Browse By

Sweatson Klank: “Fuck & Fight” feat. Deniro Farrar Off Forthcoming “You, Me, Temporary” Album


From its opening notes ‘You, Me, Temporary’ announces itself as music from the soul reaching for the soul. The album recounts a modern day love story through the musical eyes of its protagonist, Sweatson Klank. It’s a story of love in the fast lane that touches on the good – innocence, romance, lust, sex – and the bad – drugs, debauchery, loss of self, despair – before closing with the peaceful beauty that comes with total acceptance of what is. ‘You, Me, Temporary’ is Sweatson Klank’s third full-length album in 10 years, and it shows just how extensive the Los Angeles native’s artistic growth has been. The music tight ropes between electronic, hip hop and futuristic R&B, sidestepping obvious boxes while finding its own effortlessly. ‘You, Me, Temporary’ transcends genres, balancing the vulnerable and sensual with the rough and jagged. The album has an emotive and sometimes pressing quality, in direct opposition to today’s disposable music mania. The hypnotic interplay of chords, melodies and rhythms draws you in and is equally effective in headphones as it is on the dancefloor. The warmth of analogue equipment flirts with expert sampling and chops that evoke the playful soul of ‘90s R&B and the heartfelt angst of classic hip hop while remaining forward thinking.

A wide cast of vocal guests help recount the different tales and stages of this story: Vikter Duplaix, Ango, Selfsays, Doc Illingsworth, Deniro Farrar, Anna Wise of Sonnymoon and Pat Parra. Upbeat and energetic songs sit next to hypnotic ballads, the sort most conducive to ‘baby making’ you might even say. The music is often elating, sexy and at times dreamy but also progresses to show melancholy and despondency in the sincerest way. Sometimes playful, sometimes serious the vocal tracks add a human dimension to the story that ‘You, Me, Temporary’ tells, completing its message and taking the album to that proverbial next level.

With this third album Sweatson Klank puts aside self-indulgence for simple honesty and the maturity that only comes with being a seasoned artist. ‘You, Me, Temporary’ tells a timeless story in a compelling way, and while its title hints at the trials and tribulations behind relationships, the overt concept lies in the impermanence of everything around us.

Lead track ‘Fuck And Fight’, though, features rhymes from North Carolina MC Deniro Farrar, responsible for last year’s Kill Or Be Killed mixtape with Shady Blaze and collaborations with Ryan Hemsworth and Lunice.

‘Fuck & Fight’ sees Farrar pick over the bones of a relationship that’s fallen to pieces. It’s gloomier and darker than your typical “love-you-hate-you” track – there’s no doubt that Farrar and ladyfriend have been going through the motions for some time. Klank’s low-lit beat, mournful to the core, only amplifies the gloom.

You, Me, Temporary is out on Project:Mooncircle on April 1.


A01. Oblique
A02. Opium Scented
A03. Waiting feat. Vikter Duplaix
A04. Asking For It
B05. 15 Bucks feat. Doc Illingsworth
B06. Bed That
B07. Fuck & Fight feat. Deniro Farrar
B08. I Shouldn’t Be Here feat. Ango
C09. Morning After Pills feat Anna Wise of Sonnymoon
C10. Contemplate
C11. Till The End feat Self Says & Doc Illingsworth
C12. Even If We Get Too High feat. Ango
D13. Still Dark feat. Pat Parra
D14. Chasing You
D15. The Get Over
D16. All This Time
E17. Waiting (Instrumental)
E18. Asking For It (Instrumental)
E19. 15 Bucks (Instrumental)
E20. Fuck & Fight (Instrumental)
E21. I Shouldn’t Be Here (Instrumental)
F22. Morning After Pills (Instrumental)
F23. Till The End (Instrumental)
F24. Even If We Get Too High (Instrumental)
F25. Still Dark (Instrumental)